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The Batsman’s grip and stance should be the same from the start of the
bowler’s run up until the beginning of the bowler’s delivery stride. The
batsman can utilize any grip as long as he does not change it while the bowler
is running in to bowl.

From the beginning of the delivery stride (defined as the moment that the
bowler’s back foot lands in the delivery stride) the batsman, if he chooses,
may start to play the switch hit stroke.

If the bowler sees the batsman alter his grip or stance before he enters his
delivery stride, he is not compelled to deliver the ball.

If the bowler does not deliver the ball, in this instance, the umpire shall give
the striker an informal warning.

The second time this happens, the striker should be formally warned that he is
wasting time under Law 4/,70? (Batsman wasting time). This shall constitute a
first and final warning, and be applicable to any batsman in that innings. Any
subsequent instances shall result in 5 penalty runs being awarded to the
fielding side.

The bowlers, having seen the batsman change his grip and/or stance, may
decide to bowl at the batsman, and is entitled to do so. The umpires should
allow that option.

In short, the batsman is still entitied to play the switch hit stroke but he is only
allowed to alter from one stance or grip to another - Once the bowler has

entered his delivery stride.

NOTE - *Wide interpretation for the reverse sweep or Switch Hit

The interpretation to be followed for calling a wide when a switch hit or reverse
sweep is played or the batsman getting in a position to play the shot, he is
deemed to bring the ball sufficiently within his reach on the leg side as well

*Consequently, in these circumstances the wider 75 cm wide guide line (One
Day Matches) shall apply on both sides of the stumps.

*Simply, when the batsman plays or aborts playing a reverse sweep or a
Switch hit these shots negate the leg stump wide interpretation.
LBW

If a player decides to switch hit then for an umpire to decide if the batsman is
out or not out LBW the batsman’s normal batting position is the deciding
factor.

EG: A left arm bowler who bowls over the wicket to a right hand batsman if
struck on the pads the umpire will adjudicate the same if that batsman was not
switch hitting; so if the ball pitches outside leg stump the decision is Not Out.

Brian Goodman



